For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

The kick-off of AMBition is scheduled for the 28th of June 2019 during a symposium in the KIT Royal Tropical Institute in Amsterdam.

Detail Summary
Date 28 June 2019
Time 14:30 -23:00
AMBition: the Amsterdam Mind and Brain coalition

AMBition is a coalition of four leading neuroscience research institutes:

  • Netherlands Institute for Neuroscience (NIN; KNAW)
  • Amsterdam Neuroscience (Amsterdam UMC; VU/UvA)
  • Institute for Brain and Behaviour, Amsterdam (IBBA; VU)
  • Amsterdam Brain and Cognition (ABC; UvA/AMC)

aimed at building sustainable bridges between Amsterdam’s top research groups in the fields of brain and mind research. With the launch of AMBition, Amsterdam’s international visibility as an attractive and inspiring centre for mind and brain research will grow greatly, pushing Amsterdam in joining the league of worldwide leading institutes in this field.
AMBition will bring researchers together and allow collaborative initiatives to grow into strong competitive research programs. Collaboration will increase our critical mass, join forces and share the costs of expensive infrastructure, such as high-field MR scanners. As a result, our scientists can rapidly adopt new techniques and spearhead innovation in a rapidly developing field. It will enable us to perform research at the frontiers of knowledge and enhance both quality and quantity of neuroscience and cognitive research in Amsterdam.

The kick-off of AMBition is scheduled for the 28th of June 2019 during a symposium in the KIT Royal Tropical Institute in Amsterdam.


Kind regards,
Richard Ridderinkhof & Cyriel Pennartz (ABC)
Jan Theeuwes (IBBA)
Pieter Roelfsema (NIN, KNAW)
Arjen Brussaard & Diederik van de Beek (Amsterdam Neuroscience)

and the organizing committee:
Ingo Willuhn
Christian Keysers
Christiaan Levelt
Michel van den Oever
Hanneke Hulst
Vivi Heine
Christiaan de Kock
Rick van der Kant
Esmee Verwijk
Steven Scholte
Filip van Opstal
Ilja Sligte
Jakub Szymanik
Renée Visser
Mark van Vught
Tomas Knapen
Guido van Wingen
Harm Krugers
Carien Lansink