For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

Frijda Chair

Nico Frijda (1927-2015) was emeritus professor of Psychology at the University of Amsterdam and a pioneer of Cognitive Science in the Netherlands. In his name an annual Honorary Chair has been established at the University of Amsterdam. Every year a prominent research in the field of Cognitive Sciences is appointed as visiting professor on the Frijda Chair. The acclaimed scientist gives the annual Frijda lecture and the theme of the annual ABC (Amsterdam Brain and Cognition Center) Summer School is determined by the expertise of the researcher holding the chair.

Frijda chairs 2003 - 2018:


2018 | Brain Knutson

Stanford University, USA


2017 | Jerome Siegel

Semel Institute for Neuroscience & Human Behavior (UCLA), USA

2016 | Josh Tenenbaum

The Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA

2015 | Mark T. Wallace

Vanderbilt Brain Institute

2014 | Micheal Meaney

McGill University, Canada. 

2013 | Christine van Broeckhoven   

University of Antwerp, Belgium

2012 | Kevin LaBar                           

 Duke University, USA

2011 | Adele Diamond                      

University of British Columbia, Canada

2010 | Ernst Fehr                              

University of Z├╝rich, Switzerland

2009 | Christof Koch                         

California Institute of Technology, USA

2008 | James McClelland                 

Stanford University, USA

2007 | Harald Clahsen                      

University of Essex, UK

2006 | Annette Karmiloff-Smith        

University College London, UK

2005 | Michael Tomasello                

Max Planck, Leipzig, Germany

2004 | Richard Morris

University of Edinburgh, UK

2003 | Keith Stenning                        

University of Edinburgh, UK